> ## Content Index
> Fetch the complete content index at: https://testiweb.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover other available public pages before exploring further.

# Best 3 Month Emergency Food Supply for Home Storage
- URL: https://testiweb.com/best-3-month-emergency-food-supply/
- Published: 2026-09-07T07:24:18.000Z
- Updated: 2026-09-07T09:49:25.000Z
- Description: Six emergency food kits, ranked by servings, calories per day, and how honest the label really is. The READYWISE 3 Month leads, but two picks beat it on specific counts.
- Author: Colette Salinas
- Tags: Bedding & Sleep, #Emergency Preparedness, #Food Storage

The best 3 month emergency food supply is the READYWISE Emergency Food Supply 3 Month, which packs 894 servings across six stackable buckets with a claimed 25-year shelf life. If you want the daily calorie figure printed on the label instead, the Ready Hour 3-Month kit states over 2,000 calories a day. The deciding number here is not servings. It is how many real calories a day the kit delivers, because a "serving" is defined by each brand and nothing forces those definitions to match.

In this guide
1. [Best 3 month emergency food supply at a glance](#best-3-month-emergency-food-supply-at-a-glance)
2. [How I screened these kits down to five](#how-i-screened-these-kits-down-to-five)
3. [Why serving counts mislead you](#why-serving-counts-mislead-you)
4. [1\. READYWISE Emergency Food Supply 3 Month — Best overall](#1-readywise-emergency-food-supply-3-month-%E2%80%94-best-overall)
5. [2\. Ready Hour 3-Month Emergency Food Supply — Best premium](#2-ready-hour-3-month-emergency-food-supply-%E2%80%94-best-premium)
6. [3\. 4Patriots 3-Month Survival Food Kit — Best upgrade](#3-4patriots-3-month-survival-food-kit-%E2%80%94-best-upgrade)
7. [4\. Augason Farms 45 Day Emergency Food Supply Kit — Best minimal setup](#4-augason-farms-45-day-emergency-food-supply-kit-%E2%80%94-best-minimal-setup)
8. [5\. READYWISE Favorite Sample Bucket — Best budget pick](#5-readywise-favorite-sample-bucket-%E2%80%94-best-budget-pick)
9. [How many days does each kit really cover?](#how-many-days-does-each-kit-really-cover)
10. [What the calorie math actually means](#what-the-calorie-math-actually-means)
11. [When a different kit wins](#when-a-different-kit-wins)
12. [The verdict](#the-verdict)
13. [FAQ](#faq)

## Best 3 month emergency food supply at a glance

| Pick                                                                                                                         | Servings | Daily calories           | Price                                                               |
| ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------- | ------------------------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| **Best overall**[READYWISE Emergency Food Supply 3 Month](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B8JZDC13?tag=testiweb-20)              | 894      | Not stated               | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B8JZDC13?tag=testiweb-20) |
| **Best premium**[Ready Hour 3-Month Emergency Food Supply](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F3KXZ7VQ?tag=testiweb-20)             | 846      | 2,000+ claim             | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F3KXZ7VQ?tag=testiweb-20) |
| **Best upgrade**[4Patriots 3-Month Survival Food Kit](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09WRPJXFW?tag=testiweb-20)                  | 688      | \~7.6 servings/day claim | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09WRPJXFW?tag=testiweb-20) |
| **Best minimal setup**[Augason Farms 45 Day Emergency Food Supply Kit](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0FH4DRXLT?tag=testiweb-20) | 281      | \~1,218 claim            | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0FH4DRXLT?tag=testiweb-20) |
| **Best budget pick**[READYWISE Favorite Sample Bucket](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004JT7F8I?tag=testiweb-20)                 | 120      | Not stated               | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004JT7F8I?tag=testiweb-20) |

A note before the picks. Amazon's search returned two kits that are not three-month supplies at all: the Augason Farms pail covers 45 days, and the READYWISE sample bucket holds 120 servings. Both earned a spot for what they do well, but neither delivers a full three months on its own. Where the qualifier matters, I say so plainly.

## How I screened these kits down to five

I started with the data on each listing and cut on evidence, not marketing. Here is what I looked at, in order.

1. **Stated servings and stated calories.** A kit that publishes both is easier to trust than one that publishes only servings.
2. **Whether the size claim matches the count.** A "3-month" label on a kit that feeds one adult for 45 days is a different promise.
3. **Format and storability.** Buckets that stack and reseal beat a single loose pail for a pantry or a closet.
4. **How many sellers list it.** A kit only one seller stocks carries more supply risk than one several sellers carry.

Two kits fell short of the three-month claim in the search but stayed in the guide for honest reasons: the Augason Farms pail as a minimal one-adult runway, and the READYWISE sample bucket as a low-commitment taste test.

What I did not use: taste, texture, or how any meal performs when cooked. I have not prepared these. Every flavor note below is the manufacturer's own claim, marked as such.

## Why serving counts mislead you

The serving count is the first number every listing shouts, and it is the least comparable one you have. A "serving" is not a regulated unit. ReadyWise counts 894 of them, 4Patriots counts 688, and neither tells you those servings are the same size.

The number that actually decides your survival math is calories per day. Ready Hour states over 2,000 calories daily and prints a total of 180,840 calories per kit. Augason Farms states about 1,218 calories a day, which is roughly a maintenance figure for a small, sedentary adult and no more. Two kits here publish no daily calorie figure at all, so you buy their servings on faith.

Here is the practical rule. A healthy adult needs roughly 2,000 calories a day to hold weight. Any kit built around a lower figure is a slow-deficit ration, fine for a short stretch, thin for a long one. When you compare kits, divide total calories by days before you compare serving counts.

## 1\. READYWISE Emergency Food Supply 3 Month — Best overall

**The READYWISE 3 Month is the best 3 month emergency food supply here because it carries the highest serving count, 894, in a stackable six-bucket format that several sellers stock.**

[![READYWISE six-bucket emergency food supply — the highest serving count in this set](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/414tKyTxa1L._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B8JZDC13?tag=testiweb-20)

**Best for:** a household wanting the highest serving count in a stackable format **Skip it if:** you need a verified daily calorie floor on the label

At 894 servings across six buckets, this ReadyWise kit tops every other three-month option in the set on raw count. The split lid on each bucket doubles as a tray, which is a small touch that matters when you are eating out of a pail. ReadyWise says the food holds up to a 25-year shelf life and lists 4 breakfast options, 5 gourmet entrées, and 2 drink choices, including Cheesy Macaroni. Those are the brand's claims, not measured results.

It sits mid-pack on price here, the third-cheapest of the five, and two sellers list it, which lowers your supply risk against the single-seller kits. It is also the one buyers reach for most often in this group.

The honest gap: ReadyWise does not publish a daily calorie figure on this listing. You get servings, not a calorie floor. Ready Hour beats it exactly there. If your planning starts from calories, that omission is the trade-off you accept for the higher count and wider availability.

**Pros:**

- Highest serving count in the set, 894
- Six stackable buckets for flexible storage
- Split lid doubles as a serving tray
- Several sellers stock it, lowering supply risk
- 25-year shelf life claim from the brand

**Cons:**

- No daily calorie figure on the listing
- Serving size not directly comparable to rivals
- Flavor variety narrower than Ready Hour's 22

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B8JZDC13?tag=testiweb-20)

## 2\. Ready Hour 3-Month Emergency Food Supply — Best premium

**Ready Hour is the pick for anyone who plans by calories, because it prints the number the others hide: over 2,000 calories every day.**

[![Ready Hour six-bucket emergency food supply with stated calorie totals — the kit that publishes its daily calorie floor](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/51x+83PKs5L._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F3KXZ7VQ?tag=testiweb-20)

**Best for:** anyone who wants the calorie number printed on the box **Skip it if:** you want a widely stocked kit with several sellers

This is the only kit here that gives you a hard calorie floor to plan against. Ready Hour states over 2,000 calories a day, 180,840 total calories per kit, and 3,966 grams of protein across the whole supply. Those figures make it the easiest kit to trust for real three-month math, even though its 846 servings sit just below the READYWISE count.

The brand lists 22 varieties across breakfasts, lunches, dinners, snacks, and drinks, including Buttermilk Pancake Mix and Pasta Marinara. Ready Hour also describes quadruple-wrapped, resealable pouches inside water-resistant buckets with collapsible handles. Read those as manufacturer claims.

It is the most expensive pick here and the slowest seller of the five, with only one seller listing it. That combination is the cost of the calorie transparency. If your storage plan hinges on a guaranteed daily intake rather than a headline serving count, that trade is worth making, and this is the kit I would start from.

**Pros:**

- Only kit stating over 2,000 calories a day
- 180,840 total calories claimed per kit
- 22 meal varieties reduce menu fatigue
- Resealable pouches in water-resistant buckets

**Cons:**

- Most expensive pick in the set
- Only one seller lists it
- The slowest seller of the five here

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F3KXZ7VQ?tag=testiweb-20)

## 3\. 4Patriots 3-Month Survival Food Kit — Best upgrade

**4Patriots earns the upgrade slot on recipe variety and a stated no-added-MSG formula, not on raw servings, where it trails the field at 688.**

[![4Patriots freeze-dried survival food kit — 24 recipes packed in the USA](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/51SJKwWyCQL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09WRPJXFW?tag=testiweb-20)

**Best for:** cooks who care about recipe variety and no added MSG **Skip it if:** you want the most servings for the space

This kit leans on how the food eats rather than how much of it there is. 4Patriots lists 24 recipes, including Grammy's Sweet Oatmeal and America's Finest Mac & Cheese, and states about 7.6 servings a day across the supply. The brand says the food is packed in a family-owned Utah facility with no added MSG, and that most meals need only boiling water, a simmer, and about 15 minutes. All of that is the manufacturer's own copy.

At 688 servings, it holds the lowest count of the three full three-month kits. It sits in the premium price zone and only one seller lists it, so both price and supply run against it.

Its real weakness against the top two is quantity for the footprint. You pay more and get fewer servings than the READYWISE kit. The case for it is the menu and the MSG claim. If a picky household matters more to you than a bigger pile of food, that is a fair reason to choose it.

**Pros:**

- 24 recipes, the widest named menu here
- Stated no added MSG
- 15-minute prep claim, boiling water only
- Packed in a US facility per the brand

**Cons:**

- Lowest servings of the three-month kits, 688
- Premium price for fewer servings
- Only one seller lists it

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09WRPJXFW?tag=testiweb-20)

## 4\. Augason Farms 45 Day Emergency Food Supply Kit — Best minimal setup

**Augason Farms is the simplest way in: one 8.5-gallon pail, 281 servings, for a single adult on a 45-day runway rather than a full three months.**

[![Augason Farms white 8.5-gallon emergency food pail — a single-container 45-day supply](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41ifEGeToTL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0FH4DRXLT?tag=testiweb-20)

**Best for:** one adult planning a shorter runway in one pail **Skip it if:** you need a full three months for a family

Be clear on what this is. Augason Farms states 281 servings sized to sustain one adult for 45 days, not three months. It shows up in a three-month search, but the count does not stretch that far for one person. Buy it as a half-length supply or double it up.

Everything lives in one white 8.5-gallon pail, which is the appeal. No juggling six buckets. The brand lists 14 meal varieties, including lasagna marinara and fettuccine alfredo, and states about 1,218 calories and 35 grams of protein per day. Released in 2025, it is the newest listing here. The 1,218-calorie figure is a lean maintenance ration, so treat it as a floor, not a comfortable meal plan.

Its trade-off against the true three-month kits is obvious: it covers fewer days. But it is the second-cheapest pick and two sellers list it, so as a starter tier or a solo runway it holds up.

**Pros:**

- Everything in one portable pail
- Second-cheapest pick in the set
- 14 meal varieties for a small kit
- Two sellers stock it

**Cons:**

- Covers 45 days, not three months
- Only about 1,218 calories a day stated
- Lowest daily calorie figure here

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0FH4DRXLT?tag=testiweb-20)

## 5\. READYWISE Favorite Sample Bucket — Best budget pick

**The READYWISE sample bucket is the cheapest way to test flavors before you commit, with 120 servings that fall well short of a three-month plan.**

[![READYWISE Favorite Sample freeze-dried bucket — a 120-serving taste test before a full kit](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/410Rxyj5JDL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004JT7F8I?tag=testiweb-20)

**Best for:** first-time preppers testing taste before committing **Skip it if:** you actually need three months of food now

This is a taster, and I rank it as one. At 120 servings in a single 14.6 lb bucket measuring 12 x 15 x 10 in, it is the cheapest pick and the fastest-moving of the five in its group. ReadyWise lists Cheesy Macaroni, Lasagna, Teriyaki Rice, and Chicken Flavored Noodle Soup, with a 25-year shelf life claim and the same split-lid tray design as the flagship. Those are the brand's descriptions.

Its role is simple. Before you spend on a full three-month kit, buy this, cook a few pouches, and find out whether you can live on the flavors. The model number is 01-120 and the listing dates to 2012, so it is a long-standing product.

The weakness is that it is not a survival supply on its own. 120 servings will not carry a person or a family three months. Treat it as reconnaissance, and if the food suits you, size up to the READYWISE 3 Month.

**Pros:**

- Cheapest entry point in the set
- Low-risk way to test flavors first
- Four named entrées in one bucket
- 25-year shelf life claim from the brand

**Cons:**

- Only 120 servings, not a three-month supply
- No stated daily calorie figure
- Oldest listing here, dating to 2012

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004JT7F8I?tag=testiweb-20)

## How many days does each kit really cover?

The label size and the real runway are not always the same number. Match the kit to the number of people first.

- **READYWISE 3 Month, 894 servings:** built as a three-month supply, the largest count here.
- **Ready Hour, 846 servings:** a three-month kit with a stated 2,000-plus calories a day, so its days are the easiest to verify.
- **4Patriots, 688 servings:** a three-month kit at about 7.6 servings a day, the leanest of the full trio.
- **Augason Farms, 281 servings:** 45 days for one adult, half a three-month runway.
- **READYWISE sample, 120 servings:** a taste test, not a supply.

The trap is dividing servings by three months and calling it a plan. Servings feed people, and a kit sized for one adult feeds a family of four for a quarter of the time. Decide how many mouths you are covering, then read the count against that.

## What the calorie math actually means

Two kits here give you the calorie number, and two of the full three-month kits do not. That single difference changes how you plan.

Ready Hour states over 2,000 calories a day. That is the figure a healthy adult needs to hold weight, so its runway is honest at face value. Augason Farms states about 1,218 calories a day, which is a survival-ration figure, not a comfortable one. The READYWISE kits and 4Patriots publish servings but no clear daily calorie floor on these listings, so you are trusting the count.

Do this before you buy. If the listing gives calories, divide the total by your days and your headcount. If it gives only servings, treat the runway as unconfirmed and lean toward the kit that shows the number. Calories keep you upright. Servings just fill a spreadsheet.

## When a different kit wins

The READYWISE 3 Month is the default, but three clear conditions flip it.

1. **If you plan strictly by daily calories,** buy the Ready Hour kit. It is the only one stating over 2,000 calories a day and 180,840 total, so its three-month claim checks out on paper.
2. **If a picky household is the real risk,** the 4Patriots kit with 24 recipes and a no-added-MSG claim beats a bigger pile of food nobody wants to eat.
3. **If one adult needs a shorter runway,** the Augason Farms pail covers 45 days in a single container and costs less than a full three-month kit.

And if you have never eaten freeze-dried food, start with the 120-serving READYWISE sample before committing to any of them.

## The verdict

Buy by budget tier, and the choice sorts itself out. At the entry level, the READYWISE 120-serving sample bucket is the smart first purchase: cheapest here, and the honest way to test flavors before you scale up, though it is a taster and not a real supply. The Augason Farms pail sits just above it, a 45-day single-adult runway for less than a full kit.

In the middle, the READYWISE 3 Month is the winner outright. Its 894 servings top the set, six stackable buckets store cleanly, and several sellers list it, so supply risk is low. Its one gap is a missing daily calorie figure.

At the premium end, the Ready Hour kit earns the price. It is the only one stating over 2,000 calories a day and 180,840 total, which makes its three-month claim the most verifiable here. It is also the slowest seller with one listing seller. Choose the middle tier for the best balance of count, format, and availability. Choose the premium tier when your plan depends on a printed calorie floor.

## FAQ

### Is a 3 month emergency food supply worth the cost?

A 3 month emergency food supply is worth it if you want a runway that covers an extended outage or supply disruption without weekly restocking. The value case rests on the 25-year shelf life these brands claim, which spreads the cost across decades. For a short-term hedge only, the 45-day Augason Farms pail or the 120-serving sample bucket costs far less.

### Which is better, READYWISE 3 Month or Ready Hour?

READYWISE 3 Month or Ready Hour comes down to servings versus calories. READYWISE carries more servings, 894 to 846, in a stackable six-bucket format that several sellers stock. Ready Hour publishes over 2,000 calories a day and 180,840 total, which READYWISE does not state. Pick READYWISE for count and availability, Ready Hour for a verified daily calorie floor.

### How many calories a day do these kits actually provide?

How many calories a day varies sharply, and only two kits state the figure clearly. Ready Hour claims over 2,000 calories daily, enough for an adult to hold weight. Augason Farms states about 1,218 calories a day, a lean survival ration. The READYWISE kits and 4Patriots list servings but no clear daily calorie floor on these listings, so plan conservatively.

### Does the best 3 month emergency food supply really last 25 years?

The best 3 month emergency food supply listings all claim a shelf life of up to 25 years, but that number depends on storage. 4Patriots states storage conditions affect it and advises keeping food below 75°F, away from heat, air, and moisture. Treat 25 years as a best case in cool, dry, stable conditions, not a guarantee in a hot garage.

### Is a 45-day kit enough instead of three months?

A 45-day kit is enough only if your risk window is short or you are storing for one person. The Augason Farms pail states 281 servings for one adult over 45 days, roughly half a three-month runway. For a family or a full quarter, you would need to buy multiple pails or step up to a true three-month kit like the READYWISE.

Start by counting mouths, then counting calories. Once you know how many people you are feeding and for how many days, the READYWISE 3 Month is the safe default: it holds the most servings here, stores in six manageable buckets, and several sellers stock it. If your plan lives or dies on a printed calorie number, spend up for the Ready Hour kit and its stated 2,000-plus calories a day. Either way, buy the small sample bucket first and eat a few meals before you commit to a quarter's worth of food you have never tasted.

*Last updated: September 16, 2026\. Product availability re-checked.*

*This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.*